NZSOHNS at the RACS Convocation ceremony

Mon, 13 May 2024



It was a proud day for NZSOHNS at the RACS Convocation ceremony in Ōtautahi
Christchurch on Monday (6 May). NZSOHNS members Lance Buckthought, Rujuta
Cameron, Paul Joice, Graeme van der Meer and Lara Benoiton, and recent
Aotearoa New Zealand Trainee Andrew Martin, all convocated as Fellows of RACS.
In addition, two prestigious College awards were made to NZSOHNS stalwarts.
Cathy Ferguson was awarded the Colin McRae Medal. This award recognises and
promotes the art and science of surgery and surgical leadership in Aotearoa New
Zealand and honours those who have made outstanding contributions in this way.
The Sir Louis Barnett Medal was awarded to Scott Stevenson, and was received on
his behalf by his son and ORL-HNS Trainee Jonny Stevenson. This medal is
awarded for outstanding contributions to education, training and advancement in
surgery. These awards recognise the enormous contributions made by Cathy and
Scott, respectively, to RACS and the specialty of Otolaryngology - Head & Neck